Dairy Free Alfredo Sauce

20130805-111225.jpg

I am SO excited about this recipe! It has been AGES since the last time I had Alfredo sauce! I had a craving for it so I did some searching. I found this recipe and I started getting some ideas haha! I’ve made this twice now, last night being the second time. The first time I was just sort of flying by the seat of my pants haha! I am THRILLED to report that my oldest, who is VERY picky about his flavors, said, “This is so good you will faint the first time you try it!” and he said it both times he had it. I think it’s safe to say that it is really good! What you need to do right now is go get a can (yes a can) of coconut milk and put it in the fridge. The cream separates and sits right on top and is super easy to just scoop right out! Refrigerating overnight is best.

What You Will Need
**2/3 c cream from refrigerated canned coconut milk (I used Native Forest unsweetened organic coconut milk classic 13.5oz can)
1 1/4 c coconut milk (I did not use the leftovers from the can because I wasn’t sure how it would affect the taste.)
2.5tbsp butter (I use earth balance)
3-4 garlic cloves (grated)
2 tbsp of flour (I used sorghum)
1 1/2 c Daiya shredded mozzarella cheese
1 3/4 tsp pepper
1 tsp onion powder
1/4 tsp italian seasoning (combo of oregano, basil, rosemary, marjoram, thyme, sage)
1 tsp salt (I used sea salt)
1 1/4 tsp garlic powder
1/4 tsp sage
1-2 c chopped spinach (optional)

Directions
In a small mixing bowl, whisk together coconut cream, pepper, onion powder, italian seasoning, salt, garlic powder, and sage.

20130805-111537.jpg
Set aside.

Next we will make the roux. In a small skillet, add butter and grated garlic cloves. I do not use the already grated garlic because fresh is always best. I use a hand grater, but if you don’t have one you can use the smallest side on a cheese grater. Cook this on medium until the butter is melted and then add the flour. I used a gluten free flour because we don’t eat gluten so I don’t know how a gluten flour will act. I chose sorghum because I don’t care for the taste of brown rice flour. 🙂 Cook the roux on med heat, stirring constantly until it thickens.

In a medium sauce pan, combine the roux and the cream/seasonings mixture. Add the Daiya cheese and coconut milk and cook on medium-med high until cheese has completely melted. Sauce should be thick, but also thin enough that it’s not just a blob on your pasta. I slowly added my milk as the sauce thickened so you are welcome to do that as well. Stir the sauce frequently so it does not burn. It takes about 30-45 minutes to make, but I let mine sit on low while I made the chicken and pasta to go with it. Then I turned up the heat at the end to make sure it was all nice and melty. Now for the spinach. I realize not everyone likes spinach as much as we do haha, that’s why I put it as optional. I chopped up a cup and added it at the end so it cooks in for just a few minutes.

20130805-113426.jpg

There you have it my friends! Enjoy and let me know how it turns out for you!

**If you don’t have a can of milk for the cream, you can use 2.5 cups of coconut milk instead. The cream does make a HUGE difference though.

~Crunchymama~

Leave a Reply

