Apple Cider Vinegar

cup of apple cider vinegar

Recently there has been a lot of people coming out and touting the benefits of Apple Cider Vinegar. Benefits range from weight loss to heart burn relief and everything in between. By no means is this home remedy new, it has been used for centuries and resurfaced in the 1950’s , but it seems to be making a come back with the younger generation these days. Some believe apple cider vinegar cures everything and some doubt its benefits. There have been medical studies that confirm it helps with diabetes, high cholesterol, blood pressure, weight loss, cancer, and even heart health. If it can help what I consider to be significant issues, I think it can also help with smaller issues such as warts or acne. If you want to read more on the studies you can visit these websites: WebMD , Reader’s Digest, Alternative Medicine, Home Remedies Web, or you could always check out the book Apple Cider Vinegar by Paul C. Bragg and Patricia Bragg.

Now on to why I am interested in it! For those of you who do not know me, I was diagnosed with PCOS when I was 11! I proceeded to take birth control for the next 11 years of my life. After I got married in 2011, my husband and I decided we wanted to have kids SOMEDAY so it would be beneficial for me to come off of birth control to figure out how my body works. One of the consequences of this is my weight spiraled out of control and my blood sugar is all sorts of crazy most days. There were many more consequences that I am slowly finding solutions for but that’s for another post another day! So in order to help lose weight and try to gain a balance on my blood sugar my husband and I came up with the following drink. I think its great and can sip on it until its gone, he thinks anything with apple cider vinegar is gross and shoots it. I think it may be a little in his head and a little he doesn’t like the vinegary burn. 😉 But I digress! My husband and I are going to do a month long challenge! I will post the results as we go, if you would like you can join us and post your results of ANY health benefits on this post!

Apple Cider Vinegar Drink

ingredients

2 tablespoons honey

2 tablespoons apple cider vinegar ( I would like to point out that Organic Apple Cider Vinegar with the mother such as Braggs , it is the best to use for this, as it is the most pure form!)

6 ounces of hot water

1/4 tsp cinnamon and nutmeg or allspice or pumpkin pie spice

I prefer to make this drink in a mug rather than in a large batch as I have a water dispenser that gives me boiling water anytime I want it. I add the honey and hot water to the cup to begin with and stir to dissolve the honey. I then add the apple cider vinegar and stir again to combine. I end by adding the spices, if you aren’t sure you want to add the spices adding a cinnamon stick is an easy way to add flavor and you can just stir with the cinnamon stick. You can drink it hot or cold!

Have you ever thought of drinking apple cider vinegar everyday? If you have what were your results?

**I have no affiliation with the makers of the Apple Cider Vinegar or Braggs, my research has just shown that they are the best!**

Leave a Reply

